Our Team

Meet the GSC Staff in USFQ-Quito, UNC-Chapel Hill and San Cristobal, Galapagos

We are an international team, each member with his or her role to provide the best service possible at the GSC. Get to know each of us on this tab

© Carola, Miguel Vences

Our Team in Quito, Ecuador

Carlos Mena

Co-Director, Galapagos Science Center (USFQ)

Director, Galapagos Research (USFQ)

cmena@usfq.edu.ec

Sofia Tacle

Assistant Director, Galapagos Research (USFQ)

stacle@usfq.edu.ec

Our Team in Chapel Hill, USA

Steve Walsh

Co-Director, Galapagos Science Center (UNC)

Director, Center for Galapagos Studies (UNC)

swalsh@email.unc.edu

Phil Page

Assistant Director, Center for Galapagos Studies (UNC)

philpage@unc.edu

Katya McKerr

Administrative Manager & Events Coordinator, Center for Galapagos Studies (UNC)

mkmckerr@email.unc.edu

Jill Stewart

Deputy Director, Center for Galapagos Studies (UNC)

jill.stewart@unc.edu

Kelly Weaver

Director of External Affairs & Communications, Center for Galapagos Studies (UNC)

weaverk@email.unc.edu

Our Team in San Cristobal, Galapagos

Ana Lucía Carrión

Assistant Director, Galapagos Science Center

Research Coordinator

acarrion@usfq.edu.ec

Sylvia Sotamba

Administrative Coordinator, Galapagos Science Center

ssotamba@usfq.edu.ec

Soledad Sarzosa

Laboratories Manager, Galapagos Science Center

Microbiology and Biomolecular Laboratory Coordinator

Biobank Coordinator

ssarzosa@usfq.edu.ec

Daniela González

Communications Coordinator, Galapagos Science Center

dgonzalez@usfq.edu.ec

Silvia Zavala

Experimental Education Coordinator, Galapagos Science Center

szavalam@usfq.edu.ec

Leidy Apolo

Community Outreach Coordinator, Galapagos Science Center

lapolo@usfq.edu.ec

Cristina Vintimilla

Marine Ecology Laboratory Coordinator, Galapagos Science Center

cvintimillap@usfq.edu.ec

Ariel Pila

Terrestrial Ecology Laboratory Coordinator, Galapagos Science Center

apila@usfq.edu.ec

Luis Tasipanta

Spatial Analysis & Modeling Laboratory Coordinator, Galapagos Science Center

Information Technology Systems Coordinator

ltasipanta@usfq.edu.ec

Daniela Alarcón

Special Education Projects Coordinator, Galapagos Science Center

dealarcon@usfq.edu.ec

Juan Pablo Muñoz-Pérez

Special Research Projects Coordinator, Galapagos Science Center

jmunozp@usfq.edu.ec

Jessenia Sotamba

Administrative Assistant, Galapagos Science Center

jesotamba@usfq.edu.ec

Fabiola Quiñonez

Housekeeping Specialist

Marcos Gutiérrez

Maintenance Specialist

About Us

Meet the GSC Advisory Board

The Galapagos Science Center is overseen by a governing board of successful scientists with years of experience working on research projects in Galapagos. Members are selected from both the USFQ and the UNC. The Board meets annually to advise the Co Directors in their leadership of the institution and facilities use.

From front left: Sofia Tacle, Jaime Ocampo, Carlos Mena, Diego Riveros-Iregui, Gunter Reck, Steve Walsh, Amanda Thompson, María de Lourdes Torres, Don Hobart, Jill Stewart, Peggy Bentley, Diego Quiroga, Adrian Marchetti, Corbin Jones, Carlos Valle