ABOUT US

WHO WE ARE

The Galapagos Science Center (GSC) is a joint effort between the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill – UNC and Universidad San Francisco de Quito. We have come together to increase the scientific development of the Galapagos Islands. The GSC is an active research center located on the island of San Cristóbal-Galápagos, Ecuador.  Our goal is to promote conservation of the island’s fragile ecosystems and local social development. All these with a scientific and intellectual basis.

The GSC is conceived as a multidisciplinary space with three fundamental axes:

  • Interdisciplinary Investigation 
  • Education 
  • Community Support

OUR TEAM

Carlos Mena 

Co-Director of the Galapagos Science Center

Director Institute of Geography at USFQ

Email: cmena@usfq.edu.ec


Stephen J. Walsh 

Distinguished Professor of Geography at UNC at Chappel Hill 

Director for the Center for Galapagos Studies &

Co- Director of the Galapagos Science Center

Email: swalsh@email.unc.edu

 

Lawrence Band (Geography)

Director Institute for the Environment

Email: lband@email.unc.edu


Margaret E. Bentley (Nutrition)

Carla Smith Chamblee Distinguished Professor

Department of Nutrition

Associate Dean for Global Health

Gillings School of Global Public Health

Associate Director for Education

Institute for Global Health & Infectious Diseases

Email: pbentley@unc.edu


Philip R. Berke (City and Regional Planning)

Subdirector Institute for the Environment

Email: pberke@email.unc.edu


Gary L. Bowen (Social Work)

Dean School of Social Work

Email: glbowen@email.unc.edu


Michael Emch (Geography, Epidemiology)

Professor of epidemiology

Professor and chair of the Department of Geography

Email: emch@email.unc.edu


Jonathan M. Lees (Geological Sciences)

Professor, Department Chair of Geological Sciences

Email: jonathan.lees@unc.edu


Kenneth J. Lohmann (Biology)

Professor Biology

Email: klohmann@email.unc.edu


Ronald R. Rindfuss (Sociology)

Professor Sociology

Email: ron_rindfuss@unc.edu


Conghe Song (Geography)

Professor of Geography

Email: csong@email.unc.edu


Stephen J. Walsh (Geography)

Distinguished Professor of Geography

Director, Center for Galapagos Studies &

Co- Director of the Galapagos Science Center

Email: swalsh@email.unc.edu


Diego Quiroga (Anthropology)

Dean of Research

Email: dquiroga@usfq.edu.ec


Carlos Valle (Evolutionary Ecology)

Director GAIAS (Instituto Galápagos para las Ciencias y Artes)

Email: cvalle@usfq.edu.ec


Carlos Mena (Geography)

Co-Director of the Galapagos Science Center

Director Institute of Geography

Email: cmena@usfq.edu.ec


Judith Denkinger (Marine Biology)

Professor Marine Biology

Email: jdenkinger@usfq.edu.ec


Andrea Encalada (Aquatic Ecology)

Professor Aquatic Ecology

Email: aencalada@usfq.edu.ec


Gunther Reck (Ecology)

Director Institute of Ecology

Email: greck@usfq.edu.ec


Stella de la Torre (Ecology)

Dean School of Environmental and Biological Sciences

Email: sdelatorre@usfq.edu.ec


Hugo Valdebenito (Botany)

Professor of Biology

Email: hvaldebenito@usfq.edu.ec


Ma. de Lourdes Torres (Molecular Biology)

Vice Dean of School of Environmental and Biological Sciences

Email: ltorres@usfq.edu.ec


Alex Hearn (Marine Biology)

Professor Marine Biology

Email: ahearn@usfq.edu.ec

Philip H. Page

GSC Coordinator

Email: philpage@unc.edu


Sofia Tacle

GSC Coordinator

Email: stacle@usfq.edu.ec


Sylvia Sotamba

GSC Administrator

Email: ssotamba@usfq.edu.ec


Leandro Vaca BSc.

GSC Lab Manager

Email: lvaca@usfq.edu.ec


Luis Tasipanta

IT Coordinator

Email: ltasipanta@usfq.edu.ec


Juan Pablo Muñoz

Research Coordinator GSC

Email: jmunoz@ufq.edu.ec


Daniela Alarcón

Marine Biology Laboratory Coordinator

Email: dalarcon@usfq.edu.ec


Diana Ochoa

GSC Communications Coordinator

Email: dianaochoac@googlemail.com

RESEARCH

EDUCATION

NEWS

ONGOING PROJECTS

Untitled-7
Untitled-782
Untitled-7kj

SUPPORT US

genet

120

Projects and investigations
mundo

135

Science colaborating around the world
torutga

570,000

Invested on science for Galápagos

COMMUNITY OUTREACH

iconogete

The relationship with the Galapagos community is very important. That is the reason why the GSC does articulated work with the Galapagos National Park, The Galapagos Regional GovernmentCouncil, the Municipality of Puerto Baquerizo Moreno, the Charles Darwin Station, and many others, with whom it collaborates. More importantly, however, is the direct interaction with the community, through guides associations, fishermen, parents, etc., who provide feedback to the education and research processes. Volunteer opportunities: If you wish to do volunteer in Galapagos, please contact our Facility and Outreach Coordinator.

PARTNERS

logo-galapagos
medium_white_450px
sanfrancisco

CONTACT US

Visit Us

The Center for Galapagos Studies is housed on the fourth floor (Suite 450) of the

Europa Center in Chapel Hill, North Carolina.

The street address is 100 Europa Dr. Chapel Hill, NC 27517.

There is ample visitor parking on the upper level of the Europa Center parking deck.

Mailing Information

Postal Mail & Packages:
Center for Galapagos Studies
100 Europa Drive
Suite 450
Chapel Hill, NC 27517

Campus Mail:
CB# 3220
UNC – Chapel Hill

or

In Quito:

Universidad San Francisco

GSC/Instituto de Geografía (H209)

Diego de Robles y Vía Interoceánica

Quito-Ecuador

EC 170157

+593 2 297 1700

Name (required)

E-mail (required)

Title

Message